(out 28 April 2017 through Bella Union)

1.    Restart
2.    Unlikely Force
3.    100 Million Miles
4.    Mind of a Man
5.    Hey Banana
6.    Real Love
7.    Failing At Feeling
8.    L.A On My Mind
9.    Tara
10.  Fighting the World

BNQT, a new indie super-group conceived and led by Eric Pulido of Midlake, have announced the release of their debut album Volume 1, out on Friday 28 April via Bella Union.

Listen to ‘Restart’ here

The introductory set includes 10 new, original songs and features five vocalists – Ben Bridwell of Band of Horses, Alex Kapranos of Franz Ferdinand, Fran Healy of Travis, Jason Lytle of Grandaddy, and Pulido – who wrote and sang two tracks each, with backing from other Midlake members McKenzie Smith (drums), Joey McClellan (guitar) and Jesse Chandler (keys).  Volume 1 was recorded and produced mostly at their studio in Denton, Texas. To celebrate the release, the band shared the first taste of the record with track ‘Restart’.

The concept of BNQT (pronounced “Banquet”) came to Pulido while touring Midlake’s 2013 release, Antiphon. Gathering a number of contrasting yet complementary artists he’d befriended or shared the stage with, Pulido set out to establish an environment in which they could collaborate: “That’s what art is about for me,” Pulido says, “creating with other people that you love and appreciate.”

The idea for BNQT was enthusiastically embraced by all involved, but with the artists stretched across the globe, recordings were split both with travel to Denton and remotely over the net. Over a year and some change, songs grew from demos to fully realised recordings, with Pulido guiding the way and encouraging the artists to stretch out into new, uncharted territory.  The resulting work is full of surprises, a collection that feels oddly familiar and attractively alien.


  1. Restart – Pulido
  2. Unlikely Force – Ben Bridwell
  3. Mind Of A Man – Fran Healy
  4. Hey Banana – Alex Kapranos
  5. Failing At Feeling – Jason Lytle
  6. La On My Mind – Fran Healy
  7. Real Love – Pulido (Plus Ben Bridwell And Alex Kapranos On BV’s)
  8. Fighting The World – Alex Kapranos
  9. Tara – Ben Bridwell
  10. 100 Million Miles To Go – Jason Lytle

VOLUME 1 IS OUT 28 APRIL 2017 | Facebook: bnqtband
Twitter: @bnqtband | Instagram: @bnqtband