(out 5 May 2017 through Liberator Music/Skint Records/BMG)

  1. Planet Of The Arps
  2. Revolution
  3. Losing Control
  4. Moving Water (feat. Eloui)
  5. No One Else
  6. We Are The Beats
  7. Just Can’t Get Enough (feat. Pressyes)
  8. Jonesys Lullaby
  9. What Whoop
  10. The Return Of The Unicorn

“It all started out as a joke. We never sat down and said ‘right let’s make a serious hard-hitting band’ Even our name is a joke: we just took the street names we lived on and made an aristocratic name out of them. The joke is a big part of our live shows. We’re not cool kids all dressed in black or covered in bling, we’re there in costume, making noises and having a good time with the audience.”Friends since their teens, July, Christoph and Daniel – a jazz-trained drummer, a classically trained violinist and hard rock guitarist respectively – there was never any question that the Viennese trio wouldn’t enjoy a life in music, although they didn’t think it would be done with such a happy accident.

Their debut show, performed for a film director friend’s movie launch, formed everything you need to know about Gudrun von Laxenburg. A full steam genre-defying fusion surcharged with raw drum power and synths, and a sound that sits somewhere between Daft Punk, Digitalism, Justice, The Prodigy and the Chemical Brothers. For their debut performance, in true punk spirit, they collected a bunch of samples and just jammed out. No click track and no backing tracks, just rave done in the most rock ‘n’ roll way possible, and delivered in pristine overalls that have since been developed into space-age LED tailored suits that Gudrun von Laxenburg perform in today.

From that moment on, rumours spread of their unique performance, and the shows started stacking up. “It came from the underground; people were talking about us but they didn’t even know what we sounded like or anything. We were interviewed on a major Austrian radio station. We were talking for a while and then they asked; so what music are you playing? They didn’t know. No one knew!”

They released their first single in 2012, ‘Rave Kaputt, Was Dich Kaputt Macht’, which was their first recorded music. But during the recording process the band experienced a unique challenge, how do you recreate the sweaty and chaotic yet wholly organic live experience in the studio? Most electronic bands suffer the total opposite, which is exactly what makes Gudrun von Laxenburg so exciting and different.

This is why you’re only hearing their debut album now, nearly seven years after their debut live show. Taking the art of fun very seriously, the trio have spent years refining and honing their sound so what you hear on their debut album PANIC! is an honest reflection of what you’ll experience when you see them live.

Understanding how hard it is to get a demo heard by a major label, Gudrun von Laxenburg made sure Skint had no choice but to listen to their music. “Labels get so many demos every day so we knew we had to make an impact with the packaging. My girlfriend had the idea to make the case a pyramid so it’s always on top of all letters. You can’t put anything on top of a pyramid. Genius idea! We sprayed it in gold and put the illuminati eye on it and made it as enticing to open as possible. Inside was a cake-shaped USB stick with all of our information. No name or tracklist on the USB or pyramid so it was mysterious until they pressed play. Skint even took a picture and posted it on twitter!”

Truthfully, if Gudrun von Laxenburg could, they would play every night; such is their tight comradeship and love for entertaining the crowds. With no rigid backing track they play at the tempo the crowd want them to – if you’re hyped, they go in hard; if you’re after suspense and drama, they’ll build up slowly. In an age when the mere mention of the word ‘live’ is approached with cynicism, weariness or plain confusion, Gudrun von Laxenburg are 100 percent legit.

From live grassroots to big deals based on their reputation for being great showmen, Gudrun von Laxenburg’s story is a classic tale of almost Cinderella proportions soundtracked by blistering electronic fusion. Word of mouth, unhurried hype, natural development: proof that the cream does rise to the top even in today’s convoluted, social media saturated industry. Gudrun von Laxenburg are the real deal in every way imaginable.

PANIC! IS OUT 5 MAY 2017 | Facebook: gudrunvonlaxenburg | Twitter: @Gdrnvnlxnbrg