(out 8 September 2017 through Liberator Music/BMG)

  1. Probably Nothing
  2. Missionary Position
  3. Edith Piaf (Said It Better Than Me)
  4. Scandinavian Design
  5. Giddy Giddy
  6. What The Hell Is It This Time?
  7. Unaware
  8. Hippopotamus
  9. Bummer
  10. I Wish You Were Fun
  11. So Tell Me Mrs. Lincoln Aside From That How Was The Play?
  12. When You’re A French Director
  13. Amazing Mr. Repeat
  14. A Little Bit Like Fun
  15. Life With The Macbeths

Described as “the smartest, most consistently evolving band in the history of rock”, and internationally acclaimed as pop pioneers, Sparks’ music has always been innovative and instantly identifiable.  Recorded in Los Angeles, ‘Hippopotamus’ sees Sparks take the pop form, shake it up, and create an album that is adventurous, fresh and idiosyncratically ‘Sparks’.

The title track was tipped by The Guardian Guide, NME and Music Week and described by Mojo as “combining Dr Seuss whimsy, classical miniaturism and the archest humours – with an invitation to dance – Ron and Russell Mael return as only they can”. Playlisted on BBC Radio 6 Music and coinciding with the band’s stand out performance at the 6 Music Festival in Glasgow, the song was an intriguing introduction to the band’s first ‘regular’ studio album since 2008’s ‘Exotic Creatures of The Deep’.

The “febrile” ‘What The Hell Is It This Time?’ with its “jagged electronic bedrock” and divine intolerance followed.  Also playlisted by 6 Music, the single was praised by classical music critic and BBC Radio 3 presenter Tom Service who said during Steve Lamacq’s Roundtable “I flat out love that. It is really clever, it’s really arch, its lyrics are wonderful” awarding it 10/10.

“Like all great Sparks songs, the brothers deliver their sermon standing atop a mountain of grandiose orchestration, investing its undepleted energy with a joyousness that has come to define its work across 45 years.” LA Times

New single ‘Edith Piaf (Said It Better Than Me)’, premiered on BBC Radio 2 on July 28, is classic Sparks (without sounding like any previous song in their 40+ year career), with its uplifting, hook-laden music belying the lyrics’ melancholic tone.

“Hippopotamus (like all Sparks albums) often functions like a short story, with each song reaching a narrative or thematic conclusion that often leaves the listener mused and/or befuddled, but always the wiser of some little overlooked absurdity in life.” Under The Radar

“some of the most life-affirming and attention-grabbing pop singles of all time….Sparks lyrics reach the parts which other bands wouldn’t even think to explore” The Scotsman

HIPPOPOTAMUS IS OUT 8 SEPTEMBER 2017 | Facebook: sparksofficial | Twitter @sparksofficial