(out 17 November 2017 through Liberator Music/Infectious Music/BMG)

  1. Earth
  2. Marching
  3. The Bomb – Theme I
  4. Accidents
  5. Testing
  6. Feed
  7. Propaganda
  8. Duck and Cover 2.0
  9. Onyx
  10. Clean
  11. Modern Propaganda
  12. Veda

The Acid have announced the digital release of the soundtrack for the film the bomb on November 17th via Liberator Music / Infectious Music.

Hailed by critics, the bomb is an experimental, music-driven film that looks at the strange and compelling world of nuclear weapons. The film had its UK premiere at the Shangri-La area of this year’s Glastonbury and was shown as an installation on massive 360-degree screens that completely surrounded the audience, while The Acid played the soundtrack live. There will be various international live performances in 2018, the first of the year at the Sydney Festival on 23 and 24 January 2018.

Watch the film’s trailer here

the bomb was produced and conceived by Smriti Keshari (Food Chains) and Eric Schlosser (Command and Control, Fast Food Nation, Food, Inc.).  The film was co-directed by Kevin Ford (Three Days, By the River), Keshari & Schlosser, with art direction by Stanley Donwood (Radiohead) and animation by The Kingdom of Ludd. The live installation was designed and staged by United Visual Artists.

“The topic of this film is very important to us, it’s a story which needs to be told to a generation that needs to hear it,” says The Acid’s Adam Freeland. “It’s been an honor to collaborate with some of our heroes on the bomb. It’s turned into something even more powerful than the sum of its parts. Three people passed out when we premiered it at Tribeca Film Festival.”

the bomb exists at the intersection of art, politics, and technology. Over seven decades have passed since a city was destroyed by a nuclear weapon. But the danger never went away. We are now confronted with a world in which nine nations possess almost 15,000 nuclear weapons. Many of the weapons in the American arsenal are roughly 20 times more powerful than the bomb detonated at Hiroshima. the bomb places the viewer in the middle of the story of nuclear weapons — the most dangerous machines ever built — from the Trinity Test in 1945 to the current state of nuclear weapons in 2016.

In the absence of a traditional narrative, the soundtrack plays a central role in the film, helping to provide an emotional response that rises and falls like a great DJ set.  Despite the somber subject matter, the music composed by The Acid has moments of haunting beauty.

The Acid came together from four separate worlds. They are globe-trotting, Grammy-nominated DJ and producer Adam Freeland, Californian Steve Nalepa, whose time is divided between being a producer, composer and professor of music technology; Berkley graduate, LA-based artist Jens Kuross; and Australian artist and producer RY X. The Acid’s highly acclaimed debut album, Liminal, came out in 2014.

THE BOMB IS OUT 17 NOVEMBER 2017 | | Twitter @theAcid