(out 7 April 2017 through Liberator Music/Skint Records/BMG)

  1. My Eye On You (feat. Gavin Clark)
  2. Void & Form (feat. Joel Wells) [Trentemøller Remix]
  3. It Came Without Warning [Alexander Palmestål Rework]
  4. I’ve Got A Future (feat. Gavin Clark) [Nick Cave & Warren Ellis Rework]
  5. Waves Form [MEon Rework]
  6. God Song [Frank Wiedemann Remix]
  7. I’m In Love Tonight [Pye Corner Audio Rework]
  8. Just Like Going Home [Steve Mason & Tom Gray Rework]
  9. Jesus Song [Rival Consoles Rework]
  10. Blue Crystal Fire [Joel Wells & Abi Wade Rework]
  11. Oscars Theme [Correlations Rework]
  12. It Came Without Warning (Another Man Lost) [Samana Rework]
  13. Know One Will Ever Know [Richard Norris Remix]
  14. I’ve Got A Future (feat. Gavin Clark) [Mojib’s Two Litanies Remix]

TOYDRUM, aka James Griffith and Pablo Clements, are set to release My Eye On You (To Reinvision), a collective interpretation of the duo’s catalogue to date, on 7 April through Liberator Music/Skint Records/BMG.

Running the gamut from Nick Cave’s ballardry to Trentmoller’s drum and base tinted electronica, My Eye On You (To Reinvision) was an opportunity for the duo to “let a lot of friends, peers and people we love to work with explore our songs,” explains James Griffith.

All the artists involved in My Eye On You (To Reinvision) had their own unique take on their chosen material. “Steve Mason, for instance, took an instrumental and, with Tom Grey from Gomez, turn it into a full song,” adds Pablo Clements. “Others took snippets and made whole new tracks from them. We also invited Joel Wells and Abi Wade to cover a song of their choice. It was a green light to do what they wanted.”

Pulling in the best loved moments from their debut Distant Focus Vol. 1 and from Evangelist, My Eye On You (To Reinvision) sees Frank Miedemann of Âme give ‘God Song’ a glistening house pulse, Beyond The Wizards Sleeve’s Richard Norris reimagine ‘Know One Will Ever Know’ as choral electro, Steve Mason & Tom Gray rework ‘A Distant Focus’ into a song of its own called ‘Just Like Going Home’ plus the hazy, melancholic deconstruction of ‘I’ve Got A Future’ by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis.

TOYDRUM have released two critically acclaimed albums – Distant Focus Vol. 1 and Evangelist. The latter featured the late musical maverick Gavin Clark, whose death in 2015 aged just 46 provided the catalyst for My Eye On You (To Reinvision). “We wanted as many people as possible to hear Gavin’s songs,” says Pablo. “These new versions will introduce Gavin to a whole different audience. His legacy needs to be strong and we feel these versions will help with that.”

Clark is a key figure in their history, a mesmeric but damaged musical maverick who they met when he was providing vocals for James Lavelle’s Unkle, an outfit Pablo and James were both part of. Clark went on to contribute to Distant Focus Vol. 1, but it was the songs from Evangelist that Shane Meadows placed at key moments during ‘This Is England ‘90’.

Clark, however, is only part of the TOYDRUM story. My Eye On You (To Reinvision) acts a bridge between the group’s past and their heady plans for the future. My Eye On You (To Reinvision) is not so much a straight studio set as a collectively gathered statement of where they’ve been and where they’re at. But most of all it bubbles with the sense that TOYDRUM are at home, that they’ve located what they want to do and where they’re going. Their days of sneaking up on us may be over. TOYDRUM have arrived.