DOWNLOAD PRINTABLE | DOWNLOAD IMAGES

DAN SULTAN

‘REACTION (FEAT. MEG MAC)’

“Dan is one of those artists you have to see live, his voice is so raw & soulful. I was so happy he asked me to join this project because we got to work up the song together with his band and recorded it all live that day in the studio” – Meg Mac

‘Reaction’ is the second track to surface from Dan Sultan’s forthcoming collaborative EP, Killer Under A Blood Moon, out 18 May through Liberation Records. Following on from the EP’s first cut ‘Drover (feat. Dave Le’aupepe)’, ‘Reaction’ features the wildly talented Meg Mac. Together, the pair reworked the Killer album highlight into a shimmering slice of dance-floor pop. View it here.

Dan Sultan and Meg Mac had only previously met backstage at festivals and in airport lounges. Sultan, a big fan of Meg’s, was thrilled when she agreed to join the project and lend her sleek swagger to ‘Reaction’. “She’s just awesome and super professional, of course. She knew the song almost better than I did,” he laughs.

Killer Under A Blood Moon was recorded live at Red Moon Studios in the sweeping hills of the Macedon Ranges. The EP features selected tracks from Dan Sultan’s fourth LP, Killer, reinterpreted by the brightest names in Australian music: Dave Le’aupepe (Gang of Youths), Meg Mac, Camp Cope and A.B. Original. The EP is testament to the respect Sultan garners in his peers. It also speaks to a growing camaraderie amongst those musicians unafraid to forge new cultural ground and to challenge the status quo, onstage and off.

Dan Sultan described the concept behind this project as a way to give his songs new bodies, new ways of being, and to have a good time doing it. “We were really just hanging out and having a bit of fun together,” Sultan says of handing his songs over to his friends, who also happen to be some of his favourite musicians. “I’m really proud of Killer and of the writing on the album, and this is another way to show these songs from a different perspective.”

Dan Sultan is currently amidst his 3 month Killer Solo Tour, which sees him stripping things back to basics – just Dan Sultan, his piano and guitar. He’ll play 44 intimate theatre shows in total, spanning all over the country from Hobart to Darwin, Carnarvon, Redland, and everywhere in between.

Just months after it debuted in the top five of the ARIA Albums Chart, Killer was nominated for Best Rock Album and Best Independent Release at the 2017 ARIA Awards. Sultan was nominated for Best Male Artist, not for the first time. Killer is currently up for Best Blues and Roots Album at the 2018 AIR Awards.

KILLER SOLO TOUR DATES
Tickets via dansultan.com

Fri 4 May | Milton Theatre | Milton, NSW | SOLD OUT!
Fri 11 May | Gpac – Drama Theatre | Geelong, VIC
Fri 18 May | The Cardinia Cultural Centre | Cardinia, VIC
Sat 19 May | The Memo | Healesville, VIC | SOLD OUT!
Sat 26 May | Darwin Entertainment Centre – Playhouse | Darwin, NT
Sat 2 Jun | Tanks Art Centre | Cairns, QLD
Fri 8 Jun | Wagga Wagga Civic Centre | Wagga Wagga, NSW
Thu 14 Jun | Old Museum Concert Hall |Brisbane, QLD
Fri 15 Jun | The J Theatre | Noosa, QLD
Sat 16 Jun | Redland Performing Arts Centre | Redland, QLD
Sun 17 Jun | Brunswick Picture House | Brunswick Heads, NSW
Wed 20 Jun | Jetty Memorial Theatre | Coffs Harbour, NSW
Thu 21 Jun | Capitol Theatre | Tamworth, NSW
Fri 22 Jun | Laycock Street Theatre | Gosford, NSW
Sat 23 Jun | Long Point Vineyard | Port Macquarie, NSW
Thu 28 Jun | Knox Community Arts Centre | Bayswater, VIC
Fri 29 Jun | The Capital | Bendigo, VIC
Sat 30 Jun | Queenscliff Town Hall | Queenscliff, VIC
Thu 5 Jul | Sooki Lounge | Belgrave, VIC
Fri 6 Jul | Horsham Town Hall | Horsham, VIC
Sat 7 Jul | The Gov | Adelaide, SA
Thu 12 Jul | Bunbury Regional Entertainment Centre – The Cube | Bunbury, WA
Fri 13 Jul | Settler’s Tavern | Margaret River, WA
Sat 14 Jul | Fly By Night Club – Victoria Hall | Fremantle, WA
Sun 15 Jul | Queens Park Theatre | Geraldton, WA
Wed 18 Jul | Carnarvon Civic Centre – Camel Lane Theatre | Carnarvon, WA
Fri 20 Jul | Red Earth Arts Precinct | Karratha, WA
Sat 21 Jul | Matt Dann Theatre | Port Headland, WA

KILLER UNDER A BLOOD MOON TRACKLISTING

  1. Drover (feat. Dave Le’aupepe)
  2. My Kingdom (feat. A.B. Original)
  3. Reaction (feat. Meg Mac)
  4. Killer (feat. Camp Cope)
  5. Pitchfork (Bonus Track)
  6. Coming Back (Bonus Track)

KILLER UNDER A BLOOD MOON IS OUT FRIDAY 18 MAY 2018 VIA LIBERATION RECORDS
AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER HERE

dansultan.com | facebook.com/dansultanmusic
Twitter @dansultan | Instagram @dansultanmusic

liberationrecords.com.au