DOWNLOAD PRINTABLE | DOWNLOAD IMAGES

Julia Jacklin - Crushing - Album Art

JULIA JACKLIN
‘PRESSURE TO PARTY’
(Single out now through Liberation Records)

Following the critically acclaimed cuts ‘Body’ and ‘Head Alone’, Julia Jacklin now shares ‘Pressure To Party’ – the new single from her forthcoming album Crushing out next month through Liberation Records.

Premiered last night on triple j Good Nights, the full-tilt and harmony-spiked track finds Julia pushing for emotional freedom.

“When you come out of a relationship, there’s so much pressure to act a certain way. First it’s like, “Oh, you’ve gotta take some time for yourself…” but then if you take too much time it’s, “You’ve gotta get back out there!” This song is just my three-minute scream, saying I’m going to do what I need to do, when I need to do it.” – Julia Jacklin

The music video (directed by Julia and long-time visual collaborator Nick Mckk) was filmed in a familiar location and features Julia and her siblings, plus a guest appearance from Body Type.

I went back to the house we shot my first music video ‘Pool Party’ in, as it felt like a good visual book end for the last 3 years. We shot the video in one take. It took a few practice runs but we managed to get it done in about 4 hours. We all swam in the pool after. It was a really special day. I managed to get all of my siblings in the clip, and we hadn’t all been in the same room together for over 4 years. I also got one of my favourite bands Body Type to wear all my old music video outfits and pretend to be my band.”

Produced by Burke Reid (Courtney Barnett, Liam Finn) and recorded at The Grove Studios in NSW, Julia’s second full-length Crushing embodies every possible meaning of its title. It’s an album formed from sheer intensity of feeling, and an in-the-moment narrative of heartbreak and infatuation. With her storytelling centred on bodies and crossed boundaries and smothering closeness, Crushing reveals how our physical experience of the world shapes and sometimes distorts our inner lives.

Presented by Frontier Touring and triple j, the Australia & New Zealand Crushing Tour will see the Blue Mountains artist play some of her biggest rooms to date, visiting metro and regional cities throughout February & March. She’ll be joined by Olympia in Australia – who has recently released the follow up single to her LP Self Talk, which was awarded the Australian Music Prize. Following the Australian leg, Julia will head overseas for a massive run of shows across the UK, Europe, the US and Canada.

‘Body’ and ‘Head Alone’ are receiving widespread love from fans, media and radio alike. The latter is currently on rotation at triple j and FBi Radio, and this week it was announced that ‘Body’ is up for Song of the Year at the 2019 FBi Radio SMAC Awards.

Crushing follows Julia Jacklin’s debut album Don’t Let The Kids Win, which achieved stunning acclaim across the globe, and saw Julia awarded Next Big Thing at the FBi Radio SMAC Awards and Best Independent Blues and Roots album at the AIR Awards. The album was also nominated for two ARIA Awards and the J Award for Album of the Year in 2017.

Crushing will be released on February 22nd on limited edition green vinyl, CD and digital services, and is available to pre-order here.

JULIA JACKLIN
CRUSHING TOUR
AUSTRALIA & NEW ZEALAND
FEBRUARY & MARCH

Thu 21 Feb
Perth Festival | Perth, WA
All Ages
with special guest Julien Baker
perthfestival.com.au

Wed 27 Feb
Blue Smoke | Christchurch, NZ
18+
with special guest Merk
livenation.co.nz

Thu 28 Feb
The Cook | Dunedin, NZ
18+
with special guest Merk
livenation.co.nz

Fri 1 Mar
Hollywood Cinema | Auckland, NZ
18+
with special guest Merk
livenation.co.nz

Sat 2 Mar
San Fran | Wellington, NZ
18+
with special guest Merk
livenation.co.nz

Tue 5 Mar
UOW Unibar | Wollongong, NSW
18+
with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton
moshtix.com.au

Wed 6 Mar
ANU | Canberra, ACT
18+
with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton
moshtix.com.au

Sat 9 Mar
The Triffid | Brisbane, QLD
18+
with special guests Olympia & Asha Jefferies
oztix.com.au

Sun 10 Mar
WOMADelaide | Adelaide, SA
All Ages
womadelaide.com.au

Tue 12 Mar
Spiegeltent | Hobart, TAS
18+
spiegeltenthobart.com

Thu 14 Mar
The Forum | Melbourne, VIC
18+
with special guests Olympia & Robert Muinos
ticketmaster.com.au

Fri 15 Mar
Metro Theatre | Sydney, NSW
18+
with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton
ticketek.com.au

Sat 16 Mar
Cambridge Hotel | Newcastle, NSW  
18+
with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton
ticketbooth.com.au

JULIA JACKLIN
CRUSHING TOUR
UK, EUROPE & NORTH AMERICA
FEBRUARY & MARCH

Tue 26 Mar | Haunt | Brighton, UK
Wed 27 Mar | Fleece | Bristol, UK
Thu 28 Mar | Castle & Falcon | Birmingham, UK
Fri 29 Mar | Yes | Manchester, UK
Sat 30 Mar | Whelans | Dublin, Ireland
Tue 2 Apr | Stereo | Glasgow, UK
Wed 3 Apr | Belgrave Music Hall | Leeds, UK
Thu 4 Apr | Electric Brixton | London, UK
Fri 5 Apr | Les Etoiles | Paris, FRA
Mon 8 Apr | AB Club | Brussels, BEL
Tue 9 Apr | Paradiso-Noord | Amsterdam, NED
Wed 10 Apr | Blue Shell | Cologne, GER
Thu 11 Apr | Molotow Sky Bar | Hamburg, GER
Fri 12 Apr | Vega | Copenhagen, DEN
Mon 15 Apr | Privatclub | Berlin, GER
Tue 16 Apr | Milla | Munich, GER
Wed 17 Apr | Bogen F | Zurich, SWI
Wed 24 Apr | Bowery Ballroom | New York, NY
Thu 25 Apr | Johnny Brenda’s | Philadelphia, PA
Fri 26 Apr | Great Scott | Boston, MA
Sat 27 Apr | Bar le Ritz | Montreal, QC
Sun 28 Apr | Horseshoe Tavern | Toronto, ON
Tue 30 Apr | DC9 | Washington, DC
Wed 1 May | Strange Matter | Richmond, VA
Thu 2 May | Cat’s Cradle | Carrboro, NC
Mon 6 May | Third Man | Nashville, TN
Wed 8 May | Schubas | Chicago, IL
Thu 9 May | 7th Street Entry | Minneapolis, MN
Fri 10 May | Reverb | Omaha, NE
Sat 11 May | Recordbar | Kansas City, MO
Mon 13 May | Larimer Lounge | Denver, CO
Tue 14 May | Urban Lounge | Salt Lake City, UT
Fri 17 May | Fox Cabaret | Vancouver, BC
Sat 18 May | Tractor Tavern | Seattle, WA 
Sun 19 May | Mississippi Studios | Portland, OR
Tue 21 May | Swedish American Music Hall | San Francisco, CA
Thu 23 May | Teragram | Los Angeles, CA
Mon 3 Jun | Club Dada | Dallas, TX
Tue 4 Jun | Barracuda (Inside) | Austin, TX
Wed 5 Jun | White Oak Music Hall (Upstairs) | Houston, TX
Thu 6 Jun | Gasa Gasa | New Orleans, LA

‘PRESSURE TO PARTY’ IS OUT NOW THROUGH LIBERATION RECORDS
AVAILABLE FOR STREAMING AND PURCHASE HERE

CRUSHING IS OUT FRIDAY 22 FEBRUARY THROUGH LIBERATION RECORDS
AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER HERE

juliajacklin.com | facebook.com/juliajacklin
Twitter @juliajacklin | Instagram @juliajacklin
Youtube | Spotify

liberationrecords.com.au