Garbage today announce the release of the 20th anniversary edition of their legendary second album Version 2.0, out Friday 22 June 2018 through Liberator Music/STUNVOLUME. Version 2.0 has been remastered for the 20th anniversary, and deluxe editions of the reissue contain 10 bonus B-sides from the Version 2.0 era. The standard remastered album is available on CD or 2LP, while the deluxe edition with bonus tracks is available in a very special 3LP package with a poster, stickers and a condom, or as a double CD. Both the standard edition and the deluxe edition will also be available digitally to purchase or stream.

The first offering from the reissue is the typically visceral ‘Lick The Pavement’, which is out today. Listen to ‘Lick The Pavement’ here.

Version 2.0 is in my opinion the quintessential garbage record,” shared Garbage singer Shirley Manson. “We are all very grateful to the millions of people who took it to their hearts at the time it was released and to those who continue to love on it still”.

Initially released in May 1998, Version 2.0 charted at #5 on the ARIA Album Chart in Australia and #1 in New Zealand. The album went on to be certified platinum in Australia, New Zealand and the United States, and double platinum in the United Kingdom. Version 2.0 was nominated for four Grammy Awards, including Album Of The Year and Best Rock Album, and Best Rock Song and Best Rock Performance for ‘Special’. The video for ‘Push It’ was nominated for eight MTV Video Music Awards.

Speaking about the enduring legacy of the record, the band’s drummer and co-producer Butch Vig explains:

Version 2.0 is the sound of a band growing up, evolving, and more than anything, gaining confidence. When we started recording, we made a conscious decision to not re-invent ourselves, but rather take everything we learned from our debut album and filter it through the new digital technology we were grappling with. Sonically, the album has moments of razor sharp clarity and soft beauty. Indeed, it’s possibly our best album.”

Shirley Manson recently won the NME’s prestigious ‘Icon’ award at their Brixton Academy ceremony in February. A suitably fitting tribute to one of rock’s great pioneers and provocateurs, the award serves as further indication of the impact Garbage have already left in the alternative rock landscape and on the mainstream.

Version 2.0 (20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) [Remastered]

Garbage – Version 2.0 (20th Anniversary) tracklist:

  1. Temptation Waits
  2. I Think I’m Paranoid
  3. When I Grow Up
  4. Medication
  5. Special
  6. Hammering In My Head
  7. Push It
  8. The Trick Is To Keep Breathing
  9. Dumb
  10. Sleep Together
  11. Wicked Ways
  12. You Look So Fine

Bonus tracks (Deluxe Edition only):

  1. Can’t Seem To Make You Mine
  2. 13x Forever
  3. Deadwood
  4. Get Busy With The Fizzy
  5. Soldier Through This
  6. Thirteen
  7. Lick The Pavement
  8. Medication (Acoustic)
  9. Tornado
  10. Afterglow

PRE-ORDER AVAILABLE HERE | | Twitter @garbage