In incredibly exciting news, Wolf Alice – one of the biggest breakthrough independent bands of recent years – will arrive on our shores next week for Laneway Festival, where they’ll play exclusively for Australian and New Zealand fans. The trip comes not long after the UK outfit were nominated for Best British Group at The BRIT Awards 2018. This is the second time they have received a nomination, following their short listing for British Breakthrough Act in 2016.

Wolf Alice’s nomination caps a stellar year for the band, whose acclaimed second album Visions Of A Life debuted in the UK charts at number two and was named in the top three best albums of 2017 by NME, Q and Drowned in Sound, amongst others.

‘Their second album alternates blissful blasts and spectral melancholy, giving Ellie Roswell and her bandmates their own distinct identity.’ – The Age

‘There’s little to fault with Visons of a Life, a rock/punk/indie hybrid that glides between genres with the conviction and skill of a much older band.’ Rolling Stone Australia

Visions of a Life has been wholeheartedly embraced by Australian audience.  The record, which was crowned triple j Feature Album upon release, includes the exhilarating rage-rush that was first single, Yuk Foo’ (premiered by Annie Mac on BBC Radio 1), the beautifully paced, sweet and slow-burning Don’t Delete The Kisses (#1 on triple j’s most played chart), an anthemic celebration of individuality that is ‘Beautifully Unconventional’ (currently on BBC Radio 1’s A List) and current single, ‘Space & Time’.  

Wolf Alice, fronted by the electric Ellie Rowsell (vocals, guitar) and completed by Joff Oddie (guitar, vocals), Theo Ellis (bass) and Joel Amey (drums, vocals), released their debut album in 2015 titled My Love Is Cool, which hit No. 2 in the UK charts and No. 12 on the Billboard alternative albums chart in the US. They were nominated for the Mercury prize, Ivor Novello Award, a Brit for Breakthrough Act and Grammy for Best Rock Performance, and took home an NME Award for Best Live Band. They crisscrossed the UK, the US, Australia (Falls Festival 2014, Splendour in the Grass 2015 + headline shows), Japan and Europe on the mother of all two-year tours. Last year Ellie and Theo set up the Bands For Refugees movement, after the horrors of Europe’s migrant crisis and the lack of compassion shown in many quarters shocked them into action.

Visions Of A Life is available now digitally and on CD & Vinyl

Wolf Alice–
Visions Of A Life tracklisting:

1. Heavenward
2. Yuk Foo
3. Beautifully Unconventional
4. Don’t Delete The Kisses
5. Planet Hunter
6. Sky Musings
7. Formidable Cool
8. Space & Time
9. Sad Boy
10. St. Purple & Green
11. After The Zero Hour
12. Visions Of A Life

Twitter: @wolfalicemusic Instagram: @wolfaliceband